Overall approval rating of 88% out of 89 total guest reviews

The St Patrick Square Residence

16 Oct 2018 07:10

Service

Great, clean, modern apartment. Good access to city centre. Would definitely recommend!

Product

Great apartment, lovely decor, well equipped.

The Yeaman Place Residence

12 Oct 2018 05:10

Service

The booking process was straight forward. The apartment we booked was exactly as described. Security deposit was returned promptly on the specified date. Would definitely book through Edinburgh Self-catering again.

Product

The apartment was excellent. It was clean, comfortable and exactly as described. Good communication from the friendly owner who met us on arrival with the keys. Would definitely stay here again.

The Lauderdale Street Residence

12 Oct 2018 12:10

Service

Professional, provided clean accommodations as advertised, friendly and courtoeus ar rental onsite greeting location

Product

Because the location was excellent, clean .. as advertised online and staff were kind

Blair St Scott apt, just off Royal Mile

09 Oct 2018 01:10

Service

Everything was thought of for the flat - we didn't want for anything and there were close shops to stock up.

The only issue we had was that the bed in the main room was extremely uncomfortable. The springs were very 'loose' for lack of a better description.
There was a small issue with the shower not working but it was corrected immediately. The maintenance team was fantastic even checked that all switches were on for the hot water, oven etc.

We were a group of 7 and had rented 2 flats on Blair street. We had sent a few emails to confirm arrival times etc. but when the contact showed up to let us into one of the flats, he seems surprised that there was actually 2. He rushed us through the 2nd one quite quickly (hence the maintenance team turning on the cooker and boiler).


We would definitely stay again.

Product

Amazing location and everything was thought of. It is a busy location but, the bedrooms are at the back of the flat which looks out to a quite courtyard. There was never an issue with noise when sleeping.

Blair Street 1, just off Royal mile

05 Oct 2018 01:10

Service

We loved the location and cleanliness of the flat. It was perfect for our vacation. We were able to walk to most destinations. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a spacious, clean, central flat. Thank you for making our vacation a very enjoyable one!

Product

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this flat. Highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Edinburgh.

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

01 Oct 2018 10:10

Overall

Our original agreement was with the owner of the property before ESC took over management. Things seemed to transition well. We were met at the property by Lucas, who explained things in the flat very well. The flat is well positioned and lovely.<br />Why is there a following question about my ‘purchase’? It was a flat rental and referring to it as a purchase does not make this evaluation seem well thought out!

The Angle Park Residence

29 Sep 2018 11:09

Service

Some would say 'average' is generous. The property was a tad shabby in places.
There was no easily accessible welcome pack. The boiler was a mystery until I
'phoned the contact which someone (also confused?) had received from a mobile
nr. The shower head in the en-suite could not be adjusted for height. Indeed,
the entire fitting appeared to be about to fall from the tiles - loose screws could clearly be seen. Other than kitchen, all tiled areas suffered from mould.
One saving feature: beds were comfortable and towels were adequate and ample.

Product

See above for plusses (less) and minuses (more). I don't think I would wish to rent this property again.

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : These comments have been forwarded to the operator.

The Milton Street Residence

29 Sep 2018 09:09

Service

I was intimidated by the constant emails which came through demanding money when I first booked, a deposit, a full payment and a damage deposit. Although there was no need to pay the latter two instantly, I felt that the wording suggested I really should do so.

Product

Flat nice and well appointed but approach through the house was appalling - looked squalid

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : These comment have been forwarded tot he operator of this partnership property.

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

26 Sep 2018 03:09

Service

We had great service from Glenn at ESC, however dealing with "Sparkle Property Mgmt" was not pleasant at all. Not sure if they are part of ESC or not, don't remember dealing with them on past bookings, but we likely won't book again through ESC due to that experience.

Product

We have stayed at this flat before and the location is fantastic, but the flat is getting a bit tired looking. Seems like it needs a really good scrub down.
Didn't find that the flat was well stocked for a week stay either (2 rolls of toilet paper and about 6 sheets of paper towel left!!)

The Angle Park Residence

26 Sep 2018 03:09

Service

The accommodation was bright and spacious, the bedding was great and a comfortable mattress. En-suite shower room needs receiling as early signs of mould showing., slightly off putting.
No welcome pack available. We would benefit from basic information like heating controls , tv operation ,location for the nearest bus stop and bus numbers into town and nearest shop for Milk and bread etc. We complained about loud tv and music from upstairs from 10.30pm to about 3.00am every night,
We were told they would look into it but it still continued for our entire stay. “The Supply of ear plugs would have helped.”
There is a bus stop just right of the property about 50yards away and the bus no: 30 goes into the city centre at £1.70 single and £4.00 return. Remember to have the correct money as no change will be given. Buses run through out the night and check times on your phone as time table at the stops aren’t correct.

Product

Reasonable price given its location

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : no comment

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

26 Sep 2018 12:09

Service

The flat was a perfect space in Edinburgh, in the middle of pubs, castles, cafes and graveyards. Too scottish. So loved being there. Could not possibly be a better place to locate for an Edinburgh visit.

Product

Perfectly positioned, appointed and provided the most wonderful Scottish experience

The Clockmill Residence

18 Sep 2018 08:09

Service

The little flat was well presented, clean, fresh and tidy. We enjoyed the mod-cons in the kitchen and the great shower. Given that we had a washing machine it would have been nice to have had a drier or drying rack. Otherwise great and very handy to a supermarkket, buses and attractions.

Product

As I wrote in number 1. Have and will recommend the flat to others

The Thistle Apt, 250 metres to Princes Street

14 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Excellent availability to answer questions

Product

Facilities not for 4 (chairs, eating and cooking)
just about enough for 3 ,
Small toilet in hall

The Angle Park Residence

09 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Really enjoyed our stay in the apartment. Beautiful space, very clean, and had exactly what we needed. We might have welcomed something along the lines of milk (even long life milk) left in the fridge for our arrival, or a basic welcome pack, as we arrived very late, and weren't able to buy food in the area. Otherwise really enjoyed our stay.

Product

Really enjoyed it. Beautiful space, and really easy to find and access based on the instructions given. Would have been nice to have had some food in the place on arrival as we arrived very late, and didn't know the area - but other than that, all perfect.

The Findlay Gardens Residence

07 Sep 2018 12:09

Service

A charming well equipped apartment on the outskirts of the City centre. The hosts were extremely helpful easily contactable and allowing us to arrive early and provided an abundance of free food items which just made the settling in brilliant.

The apartment is capable of accommodating four (2xadults and 2x teens) and has all modern amenities from a strong wifi connection to excellent shower and comfortable furnishings. Excellent to collapse on after exploring the City and ascending Arthur's Seat (when it was an unheard of 27C!!)

Product

Though the apartment is on the outskirts of the City centre there are bus stops over the road (nos 21 &25 ) that take you into the heart of the City and act as a tour bus if you sit on the upper level of a double decker! However we also hired a car which made touring outside Edinburgh much easier and then the location of the property comes into its own.
The coastal roads leading from Portobello (Milton Rd) are only a mile away turning left down Sleigh Drive and this will take you through Musselborough, Aberlady and all the way to the delighful beach at North Berwick avoiding any heavy traffic. We spent a whole hot sunny day there crabbing etc

Driving into the City is a doddle compared to the stress of driving into London for sure or even Glasgow even!

There is a Sainsburys supermarket ten mins away by car near Meadowbank which was very handy and a Tesco in the other direction.

The neighbourhood is a very pleasant and quiet area and to be frank we were quite relieved we had booked further out to avoid the heavier traffic noise during the latter days of the 'Fringe' .
Compared to the exorbitant costs down South this was a very reasonable accommodation/holiday made all the better not only by the hosts helpfulness but also the unexpected sunny weather.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

07 Sep 2018 08:09

Service

Unfortunately the accommodation was very noisy throughout the night, every night, even when we compensated that it was the festival for first part of the week. None of us got a full night's sleep, any night. The previous year we stayed in another flat in the block during the festival that overlooked the Royal Mile and it wasn't this noisy. The issue was the height and narrowness of the side alleyway/lane funneled the noise straight up into the flats above and there were many groups of people moving about in the early hours. We also had all the smells of cooking food from the cafe/restaurants below. We would not stay or rent this accommodation ever again.
We would consider returning to the other flat we stayed in the previous year as it was more comfortable and did not have the same noise problems.

Product

Please see comments above.

The Newhaven Residence

05 Sep 2018 09:09

Service

Excellent service and responded quickly when questions asked

Product

Great apartment. Everything you could ask for in a great location.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

05 Sep 2018 06:09

Service

Easy booking service and key collection.

Product

Excellent apartment in a great location. We had a fantastic long weekend.

The Yeaman Place Residence

01 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Host met us on arrival and ensured we knew where everything was and how appliances etc worked including giving us a contact if we had any questions/ difficulties etc.
Everything in apartment was clean, comfortable and provided a home away from home.

Product

Perfect apartment for our stay

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

01 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Everything was perfect. The flat is gorgeously appointed and meticulously maintained.

Product

Beautiful location, unparalleled customer service.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

26 Aug 2018 04:08

Service

Thank you so much for being so flexible about meeting us off the night train. We were really grateful.

Product

Thank you very much for meeting us off the night train. It was much appreciated.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 5), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

24 Aug 2018 07:08

Service

We have stayed in the flat three times over the last four years. We like the location and the size. However this year it was not as good a previous years. The flat is starting to look tired and in need of a bit of TLC. Bulbs not working , kitchen furniture needs a bit of attention etc. Might not have noticed as much if we hadn't stayed here several times before and its always been 5 stars. Also there is now three beds in the second bedroom , which cut down on the space and the chest of draws was removed to make room. There is a lot of space on the landing , so could the draws have been put there? We stayed for 10 days, previously the flat has been clean after a week. Not a big issue, but would have been nice to know what was happening

Product

On the expensive side …..

Our response

Service rating : Thank you for your review and there were still many aspects you enjoyed. We are very sorry at ESC that there were some elements of your stay at the property which were disappointing this year. We will certainly be considering this valuable feedback and making improvements. The situation with the missed mid stay clean and additional bed being made up must have been been a communication error with the preparation team for both of these situations as we would only go to the expense and time of arranging the third bed if requested. The default arrangement is a twin a room. If this inconvenience had been brought to our attention at the commencement of the stay or during we would have removed it immediately.
Product : This stay was during the during the prime dates of the Edinburgh Festival for a large full property right on the Royal Mile, the price paid for this property was very economical in comparison to hotels and other self catering properties in the area.

Blair Street Burns apt, just off Royal mile

22 Aug 2018 06:08

Service

Great flat, thanks.

Product

Great flat, prompt deposit return. Thanks.

Thistle St Lane, 250 metres to Princes Street-parking included

21 Aug 2018 08:08

Service

Excellent property, very good meet and greet service, very good and easy to use website.

Product

Comfortable, well equipped flat, superb location.

Bank Street, Just off Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

15 Aug 2018 09:08

Service

Very efficient. Timely communications re payments and the property

Product

Great location! Lovely apartment, well equipped and comfortable

Ladystairs 1, on Royal Mile, 150 metres from Edinburgh Castle

14 Aug 2018 04:08

Service

Have used ESC several times now and always found the handovers smooth. Lucaz was waiting for us on our arrival this year and gave good clear instructions about the flat. Accommodation was of the usual high standard and location perfect.

Product

Perfect location. Price comparable with other good standard accommodation.

The Angle Park Residence

10 Aug 2018 10:08

Service

Prompt and helpful service in every way.

Product

Comfortable with hotel standard amenities.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

06 Aug 2018 09:08

Service

Servizio eccellente per puntualità e completezza di informazione.

Product

L'appartamento è molto bello e ben tenuto. Inoltre, si trova in una posizione magnifica per visitare la città. Sarebbe tutto al massimo, se non fosse per un dettaglio dovuto, credo, a ragioni di spazio: i lavandini dei 2 bagni sono improponibili per un appartamento di questo livello. A parte questo, lo consiglio vivamente a tutti quelli che volessero godere di una permanenza in questa interessantissima città.

The Blinkbonny Road Residence

03 Aug 2018 04:08

Service

. .

Product

. . .

Castle Wynd South, Old Town, 150 metres from Edinburgh Castle

02 Aug 2018 01:08

Service

Great location , clean and comfortable

Product

150 meters is a little misleading

New Town Chic @ Northumberland Street

01 Aug 2018 07:08

Service

Great accommodation in central location worth a visit.

Product

Very friendly and helpful.

Edmonstone Suite, Old Town, 250 metres from Edinburgh Castle

31 Jul 2018 12:07

Service

Location of property is excellent. Comfort and upkeep of property is also excellent. Response to questions and requests sent to staff is prompt and professional. The small drawback was occasional noise from nearby restaurant and passers-by in the close, typically on the weekend evenings.

Product

see comments above for details

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

30 Jul 2018 07:07

Service

Bon service.

Product

Excellente situation donnant sur Royal Mile mais un peu trop bruyant en soirée.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

28 Jul 2018 11:07

Service

The apartment was amazing, fantastic location, plenty of space and beautifully appointed. We had a lot of trouble getting to the apartment because we had a hire car and it is right in the middle of the Royal Mile where they block off part of the road. Our lovely host on the day was very patient with our late arrival and gave us a warm welcome. One suggestion would be to have a better run through the working of the apartment and the appliances. Also parking is nearly impossible and when you can find it, it is very expensive at around 28 pounds per day. We believe we could have been given a clearer warning of how awkward it is to find parking.

Product

The apartment was in a spectacular location, well decorated and very spacious. You need to go up 3 flights of stairs as there are no lifts but they are wide and not really a problem. You have such easy access to the Royal Mile. I would highly recommended this apartment for 4 adults, particularly if you don’t have a car to worry about.

Blair Street 1, just off Royal mile

25 Jul 2018 02:07

Service

Perfect location to spend a week in Edinburgh; close to everything. Our group of 4 was comfortable and we would definitely stay here when in Edinburgh again!

Product

The flat was great - clean, convenient location, had everything we needed to be comfortable for the week.

Castle View Suite 3 Old Town Edinburgh

25 Jul 2018 01:07

Overall

Really enjoyed our stay. Flat was clean, well appointed, and very centrally located. We had a couple of problems with the oven and the TV and someone came immediately to fix both. <br /><br />Everyone we dealt with was very professional - we ended up being delayed into Edinburgh by two hours due to a road diversion and Kasia was extremely understanding about this and it was no problem to meet her later than expected. When we called about the TV and oven, the customer service rep was extremely friendly and understanding. <br /><br />Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

20 Jul 2018 02:07

Overall

A fantastic apartment in a fantastic location. We stayed for 3 nights with 2 children (4&6) and the apartment was more then big enough for them to play in while we waited to head out and explore. We ate out most of the time for convenience but the Apartment was more then suitable if we had chosen to cook up there. The meet and greet was simple and fast with no messing around or hold ups.

Castle View Suite 3 Old Town Edinburgh

11 Jul 2018 06:07

Service

Very responsive both before I arrived and in sorting out an issue I had whilst staying in the flat....even responding out of hours. Very friendly and courteous.
Check in was rather hastily performed however.

Product

The flat was spotlessly clean and had absolutely everything I needed......Very generous. Bed very comfy. Amazing view and good location. Could do with a bit of a freshen up however....just a bit tired looking and a bit of an odour of ‘old chair’!
Mice scratching in the skirting boards especially at night but no evidence they could enter the flat.( That wants sorting really.)
WiFi whistles (like tinnitus) Dead batteries in the clocks.
Heating was on(in a heatwave!) when I arrived....so I had to turn it off...guy who showed me round was gone in a flash!
A shame,as the whole place is great ...it just s need a bit more attention to detail ...it could so easily be spectacular!

Blair Street Burns apt, just off Royal mile

08 Jul 2018 04:07

Service

Service perfect. Efficient and promt

Product

Perfect location. Apartment very clean and comfortable.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

08 Jul 2018 01:07

Service

Very good.

Product

Quality apartment in an excellent location.

Ladystairs 1, on Royal Mile, 150 metres from Edinburgh Castle

01 Jul 2018 07:07

Service

Flat OK, although generally grubby. Post visit response to a few suggested improvements down right aggressive. Would not use again!

Product

Expensive enough without having to carry out my own cleaning with products I had to go out of my way to purchase!

Our response

Service rating : Extremely worrying that this person whom we had a difficult relationship with has waited 8 months to place these detrimental erroneous comments and are certainly not a true account of the sequence of events. We do however agree it is in the interest of both parties if we never meet again.
Product : There was no need to carry cleaning products, if there was something not satisfactory on arrival all that had to be done was contact the guest relations team to get it remedied.

Blair Street 1, just off Royal mile

26 Jun 2018 07:06

Service

Great apartment, comfortable beds. Check in quick and easy. Fully equipped kitchen. Just Steps from the Royal mile.

Product

Great service, quick and easy check in.

The Tollcross Residence

24 Jun 2018 07:06

Service

They were very efficient. They answered my questions very promptly. The booking procedure was straightforward. The security deposit was paid back quickly. I would recommend them.

Product

They were helpful. Booking was easy. Information sent was clear.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 15), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

19 Jun 2018 03:06

Service

The flat was in a great location, had all the required amenities, and was very clean. If I return to Edinburgh, I will try to stay in the same place.

Product

Great location, great flat

The Raeburn Place Residence

11 Jun 2018 08:06

Service

Unfortunately the flat was very grubby and needed a deep clean. Crockery was also cracked.

Location was good.

Product

The flat was very grubby and needed a deep
Clean. Crockery was also cracked.

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : We have advised the operator of your valuable feedback

The Broughton Road Residence

11 Jun 2018 06:06

Service

Incorrrect link sent which did not allow us to find the details regards address and key pick up. Tried to contact someone but no response till the next day hence we paid for accomodation we could not access. Finally on the second day the correct link was sent after having a telephone call. Still no damages deposited has been refunded.

Product

Unable to walk around the bed, lack of room between bed and built in.Dining room a joke. BATHROOM FACILITIES AND LOUNGE OKAY. Kitchen inadequate. Entrance smelled and uninviting. Entrance door very unwelcoming.

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : This information has also been forwarded to the operator of this accommodation

The Leamington Road Residence

11 Jun 2018 12:06

Service

Easy to use, all info very clear.

Product

Well furnished, very clean, kitchen well equipped. I would happily stay there again.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

04 Jun 2018 02:06

Service

Promptly responded to everything.

Product

Fantastic apartment in the City Center which served as our home base for our Scotland travels.

Blair Street 1, just off Royal mile

03 Jun 2018 05:06

Service

Accommodation clean, comfortable & everything we needed. Would stay again & recommend to our friends. Ideally situated.

Product

Spacious, clean & everything one needs.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 5), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

31 May 2018 02:05

Service

The meet and greet at the apartment was very smooth. Kasha was very friendly and professional. Apartment was clean and set up for our arrival.

Product

Good value for the cost. Excellent location in the center of Edinburgh. Close to many pubs, restaurants and sightseeing attractions.

 1  2  3  4  (165 matches)  Next »