Overall approval rating of 88% out of 102 total guest reviews

The Lochend Park View Residence No.3

15 Dec 2018 09:12

Service

The rental process was very easy and the confirmation and reminder Emails very helpful. Also very helpful on arrival day when O2 was out of commission and we could not access our emails for address, key code etc!

Product

Lovely apartment just not the right location for us. Cleaners need to be a bit more thorough too as there were cobwebs in ceiling corners and the coffee machine had not been emptied.

Castle Terrace Apartment

06 Dec 2018 08:12

Service

Great apartment with spectacular view of Edinburgh Castle.

Product

Great location and a wonderful city

The Wee Highland Coo, Grassmarket

30 Nov 2018 10:11

Service

EASY TO DEAL WITH, NO ISSUES FROM START TO FINISH

Product

EASY TO DEAL WITH, NO ISSUES FROM START TO FINISH.
EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION, EXCELLENT COMMUNICATION, EXCELLENT STAY. WILL RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE.

The Fettes Penthouse Residence

29 Nov 2018 02:11

Service

Flat was beautiful, well located, well finished and great quality. However, the tumble drier didn't work, underfloor heating didn't work in the living area, radiators in 3 toilets didn't work and the water heating for the showers didn't work! Staff at Edinburgh SC were great (thanks Tony) and we got convector heaters and hot water for showers by manually switching immersion heaters off and on.
Wouldn't put me off recommending Edinburgh SC though. Hopefully, just a one off bit of bad luck.

Product

If heating, tumble drier and hot water is fixed, it'd be fabulous!

City Retreat @ The New Town

26 Nov 2018 08:11

Service

Everyone was helpful and friendly, we were very confident booking , the process was straight forward .

Product

Wonderful apartment, spotlessly clean and in lovely area. We would love to stay again.

The Castle Wynd South Residence

24 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

The service from SC was exactly what I would have expected

Product

The property location was great. Just off the Grassmarket but still quiet at night.However we found the apartment to be rather cramped. The photos on the site gave a misleading image as to the size of the apartment. We were surprised that there was no welcome provisions that we have enjoyed at other Edinburgh properties (milk,some coffee and a few tea bags). The TV was a Smart TV that was really a waste. We did not know how to work it and neither did the greeter!! Oddly there were no instructions as to how to work the TV or WIFi. We would also expect some notes on Edinburgh, local bars and restaurants etc that other apartments provide, In summary this apartment did not meet our expectations nor meet the standards of other Edinburgh apartments in which we have stayed.

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : These comments have been forwarded to the operator.

The Tollcross Residence

22 Nov 2018 01:11

Service

What a great place and excellent location. Even parking included. Wendy was absolutely brilliant and made us feel so welcome and especially as we were in Edinburgh to celebrate our anniversary. Will defiantly stay again soon.

Product

Great value and with the parking included really helps

Blair St Scott apt, just off Royal Mile

22 Nov 2018 10:11

Service

Everything worked well and was as described, friendly service etc

Product

Central location, clean, tidy, good service etc

1 Parliament Sq (apt 15), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

22 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

The whole process of booking and communication was first class in an amazing property right on the Royal Mile which was extremely good value when compared with what two hotel rooms would have cost.

Product

First class, I will always consider booking with this company again.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

21 Nov 2018 02:11

Service

A great spacious apartment on the Royal Mile with full kitchen and huge family room. Perfect location. And a good value.

Product

Great place to stay and see Edinburgh.

The David Hume Residence

13 Nov 2018 07:11

Overall

Ideally situated apartment in the heart of the Royal Mile. Well-equipped rooms without unnecessary frills. Possible improvement: the kitchen was a bit sparse. The pans were partly unusable, the equipment of the oven left much to be desired.

Tolbooth just off Royal Mile - secure parking included

08 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

Very clean, central property, flexible with sofa bed for larger parties. Well organised service with free wifi and excellent local tourist info all collated into a folder. Very friendly and helpful staff to meet and greet you and orientate you regarding the property and local amenities.

Product

Very central location and beautiful setting in the Canongate.

The High Riggs Residence

07 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

Easy to contact to arrange collection of keys. Polite and helpful staff who explained how everything worked and where local ammenities were.

Product

Good value for city break

The Hampton Residence

05 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

rien à redire. Réservation en ligne simple, les mails de confirmation sont clairs. Les rappels pour le règlement du solde et de la caution idem.

Product

Appartement parfait pour la localisation : très accessible depuis le centre ville ou l'aéroport (l'arrêt de bus est devant la maison !).
L'appartement est clair et agréable.
Il manquait uniquement quelques petits détails pour qu'il soit vraiment parfait et un peu plus chaleureux : il y a un lave-linge mais pas d'étendoir, pas de liquide vaisselle à notre arrivée (j'en ai donc acheté un que j'ai laissé sur place), un seul essuie-main, pas de manique pour prendre un plat chaud dans le four. La décoration de la salle principale est minimaliste, ça manque vraiment de chaleur (ce que les écossais savent pourtant parfaitement faire !). Le lit est petit (140cm de large) pour une chambre qui permettrait un lit de 160 et une chaise serait la bienvenue. Que des détails donc ...

Castle View Suite 1 Old Town Edinburgh

02 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

As ever the apartment was clean and well decorated. This is the second time that we have stayed at this particular apartment and will be booking for August 2019.
It is perfectly located on the Grassmarket, allowing a good view of the street entertainment and comings and goings while enjoying a rest from the hectic time during the Edinburgh Festival. We find it easy and quick to get to most venues on foot, it is only 10min to Princes Street or the George Square venue.
The meet and greet was prompt and efficient. The NCP car park is close and we were able to carry most of our belongings in one trip, including our Nespresso machine!

Product

Good service, including meet and greet.
Lovely apartment with a very quiet rear bedroom.
Well stocked kitchen.
Comfortable lounge/dining area.
Plenty of clean bedding and towels.

The Patriothall Residence

01 Nov 2018 12:11

Service

From the beginning renting the property was straight forward, and the property fullfilled all expectations.

Product

The appartment was what was advertised, a comfortable. warm great position and having the free parking wasa real bonus.

The Thistle Apt, 250 metres to Princes Street

01 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

Réservation et prise en charge de l'appartement facile et ponctuelle.
appartement conforme aux attentes, propre et joliment décoré, cosy et confortable. Literie excellente. Localisation pratique pour visiter Edinburgh et ses alentours via la gare à 10 mn.

Product

service et appartement conforme à nos attentes, voir descriptif précédent. Les salles de douche, suites parentales sont joliment équipées et arrangées.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

31 Oct 2018 10:10

Service

The service was excellent and we had a wonderful time. The perfect apartment in the ideal location.

Product

Perfect apartment in the ideal location

The Spittal Street Residence

31 Oct 2018 08:10

Service

Lovely accomodation, very helpful and good communication at the beginning and end of our stay. Thanks for helping make our holiday so enjoyable.

Product

Purchase relatively smooth.

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

29 Oct 2018 10:10

Service

Tres pro !

Product

Tres bien placé
Propre, calme et confortable

The Parkgate Residence

29 Oct 2018 08:10

Service

Very nice clean apartment_everything there we needed for our stay. Beautiful views and comfortable beds, excellent. Would definitely stay again.

Product

Very good location, very clean and comfortable.

Tolbooth just off Royal Mile - secure parking included

25 Oct 2018 09:10

Service

We got greeted and made very welcome. Apartment was superb.very clean and right in the heart of the city. Lots to do all in walking distance.
Would use them again without a doubt.

Product

This apartment was excellent. Came with parking which is rare in city centre. Very quiet even though right off royal mile.
Apartment was clean and would for sure go back.

The Waterfront View Residence

25 Oct 2018 06:10

Service

great apartment and location with superb views, and a helpful and friendly property manager who was easy to contact.

Product

quick and easy to book the apartment with no problems. Excellent value for money as well.

The St Patrick Square Residence

16 Oct 2018 07:10

Service

Great, clean, modern apartment. Good access to city centre. Would definitely recommend!

Product

Great apartment, lovely decor, well equipped.

The Yeaman Place Residence

12 Oct 2018 05:10

Service

The booking process was straight forward. The apartment we booked was exactly as described. Security deposit was returned promptly on the specified date. Would definitely book through Edinburgh Self-catering again.

Product

The apartment was excellent. It was clean, comfortable and exactly as described. Good communication from the friendly owner who met us on arrival with the keys. Would definitely stay here again.

The Lauderdale Street Residence

12 Oct 2018 12:10

Service

Professional, provided clean accommodations as advertised, friendly and courtoeus ar rental onsite greeting location

Product

Because the location was excellent, clean .. as advertised online and staff were kind

Blair St Scott apt, just off Royal Mile

09 Oct 2018 01:10

Service

Everything was thought of for the flat - we didn't want for anything and there were close shops to stock up.

The only issue we had was that the bed in the main room was extremely uncomfortable. The springs were very 'loose' for lack of a better description.
There was a small issue with the shower not working but it was corrected immediately. The maintenance team was fantastic even checked that all switches were on for the hot water, oven etc.

We were a group of 7 and had rented 2 flats on Blair street. We had sent a few emails to confirm arrival times etc. but when the contact showed up to let us into one of the flats, he seems surprised that there was actually 2. He rushed us through the 2nd one quite quickly (hence the maintenance team turning on the cooker and boiler).


We would definitely stay again.

Product

Amazing location and everything was thought of. It is a busy location but, the bedrooms are at the back of the flat which looks out to a quite courtyard. There was never an issue with noise when sleeping.

Blair Street 1, just off Royal mile

05 Oct 2018 01:10

Service

We loved the location and cleanliness of the flat. It was perfect for our vacation. We were able to walk to most destinations. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a spacious, clean, central flat. Thank you for making our vacation a very enjoyable one!

Product

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this flat. Highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Edinburgh.

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

01 Oct 2018 10:10

Overall

Our original agreement was with the owner of the property before ESC took over management. Things seemed to transition well. We were met at the property by Lucas, who explained things in the flat very well. The flat is well positioned and lovely.<br />Why is there a following question about my ‘purchase’? It was a flat rental and referring to it as a purchase does not make this evaluation seem well thought out!

The Angle Park Residence

29 Sep 2018 11:09

Service

Some would say 'average' is generous. The property was a tad shabby in places.
There was no easily accessible welcome pack. The boiler was a mystery until I
'phoned the contact which someone (also confused?) had received from a mobile
nr. The shower head in the en-suite could not be adjusted for height. Indeed,
the entire fitting appeared to be about to fall from the tiles - loose screws could clearly be seen. Other than kitchen, all tiled areas suffered from mould.
One saving feature: beds were comfortable and towels were adequate and ample.

Product

See above for plusses (less) and minuses (more). I don't think I would wish to rent this property again.

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : These comments have been forwarded to the operator.

The Milton Street Residence

29 Sep 2018 09:09

Service

I was intimidated by the constant emails which came through demanding money when I first booked, a deposit, a full payment and a damage deposit. Although there was no need to pay the latter two instantly, I felt that the wording suggested I really should do so.

Product

Flat nice and well appointed but approach through the house was appalling - looked squalid

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : These comment have been forwarded tot he operator of this partnership property.

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

26 Sep 2018 03:09

Service

We had great service from Glenn at ESC, however dealing with "Sparkle Property Mgmt" was not pleasant at all. Not sure if they are part of ESC or not, don't remember dealing with them on past bookings, but we likely won't book again through ESC due to that experience.

Product

We have stayed at this flat before and the location is fantastic, but the flat is getting a bit tired looking. Seems like it needs a really good scrub down.
Didn't find that the flat was well stocked for a week stay either (2 rolls of toilet paper and about 6 sheets of paper towel left!!)

The Angle Park Residence

26 Sep 2018 03:09

Service

The accommodation was bright and spacious, the bedding was great and a comfortable mattress. En-suite shower room needs receiling as early signs of mould showing., slightly off putting.
No welcome pack available. We would benefit from basic information like heating controls , tv operation ,location for the nearest bus stop and bus numbers into town and nearest shop for Milk and bread etc. We complained about loud tv and music from upstairs from 10.30pm to about 3.00am every night,
We were told they would look into it but it still continued for our entire stay. “The Supply of ear plugs would have helped.”
There is a bus stop just right of the property about 50yards away and the bus no: 30 goes into the city centre at £1.70 single and £4.00 return. Remember to have the correct money as no change will be given. Buses run through out the night and check times on your phone as time table at the stops aren’t correct.

Product

Reasonable price given its location

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : no comment

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

26 Sep 2018 12:09

Service

The flat was a perfect space in Edinburgh, in the middle of pubs, castles, cafes and graveyards. Too scottish. So loved being there. Could not possibly be a better place to locate for an Edinburgh visit.

Product

Perfectly positioned, appointed and provided the most wonderful Scottish experience

The Clockmill Residence

18 Sep 2018 08:09

Service

The little flat was well presented, clean, fresh and tidy. We enjoyed the mod-cons in the kitchen and the great shower. Given that we had a washing machine it would have been nice to have had a drier or drying rack. Otherwise great and very handy to a supermarkket, buses and attractions.

Product

As I wrote in number 1. Have and will recommend the flat to others

The Thistle Apt, 250 metres to Princes Street

14 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Excellent availability to answer questions

Product

Facilities not for 4 (chairs, eating and cooking)
just about enough for 3 ,
Small toilet in hall

The Angle Park Residence

09 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Really enjoyed our stay in the apartment. Beautiful space, very clean, and had exactly what we needed. We might have welcomed something along the lines of milk (even long life milk) left in the fridge for our arrival, or a basic welcome pack, as we arrived very late, and weren't able to buy food in the area. Otherwise really enjoyed our stay.

Product

Really enjoyed it. Beautiful space, and really easy to find and access based on the instructions given. Would have been nice to have had some food in the place on arrival as we arrived very late, and didn't know the area - but other than that, all perfect.

The Findlay Gardens Residence

07 Sep 2018 12:09

Service

A charming well equipped apartment on the outskirts of the City centre. The hosts were extremely helpful easily contactable and allowing us to arrive early and provided an abundance of free food items which just made the settling in brilliant.

The apartment is capable of accommodating four (2xadults and 2x teens) and has all modern amenities from a strong wifi connection to excellent shower and comfortable furnishings. Excellent to collapse on after exploring the City and ascending Arthur's Seat (when it was an unheard of 27C!!)

Product

Though the apartment is on the outskirts of the City centre there are bus stops over the road (nos 21 &25 ) that take you into the heart of the City and act as a tour bus if you sit on the upper level of a double decker! However we also hired a car which made touring outside Edinburgh much easier and then the location of the property comes into its own.
The coastal roads leading from Portobello (Milton Rd) are only a mile away turning left down Sleigh Drive and this will take you through Musselborough, Aberlady and all the way to the delighful beach at North Berwick avoiding any heavy traffic. We spent a whole hot sunny day there crabbing etc

Driving into the City is a doddle compared to the stress of driving into London for sure or even Glasgow even!

There is a Sainsburys supermarket ten mins away by car near Meadowbank which was very handy and a Tesco in the other direction.

The neighbourhood is a very pleasant and quiet area and to be frank we were quite relieved we had booked further out to avoid the heavier traffic noise during the latter days of the 'Fringe' .
Compared to the exorbitant costs down South this was a very reasonable accommodation/holiday made all the better not only by the hosts helpfulness but also the unexpected sunny weather.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

07 Sep 2018 08:09

Service

Unfortunately the accommodation was very noisy throughout the night, every night, even when we compensated that it was the festival for first part of the week. None of us got a full night's sleep, any night. The previous year we stayed in another flat in the block during the festival that overlooked the Royal Mile and it wasn't this noisy. The issue was the height and narrowness of the side alleyway/lane funneled the noise straight up into the flats above and there were many groups of people moving about in the early hours. We also had all the smells of cooking food from the cafe/restaurants below. We would not stay or rent this accommodation ever again.
We would consider returning to the other flat we stayed in the previous year as it was more comfortable and did not have the same noise problems.

Product

Please see comments above.

The Newhaven Residence

05 Sep 2018 09:09

Service

Excellent service and responded quickly when questions asked

Product

Great apartment. Everything you could ask for in a great location.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

05 Sep 2018 06:09

Service

Easy booking service and key collection.

Product

Excellent apartment in a great location. We had a fantastic long weekend.

The Yeaman Place Residence

01 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Host met us on arrival and ensured we knew where everything was and how appliances etc worked including giving us a contact if we had any questions/ difficulties etc.
Everything in apartment was clean, comfortable and provided a home away from home.

Product

Perfect apartment for our stay

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

01 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Everything was perfect. The flat is gorgeously appointed and meticulously maintained.

Product

Beautiful location, unparalleled customer service.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

26 Aug 2018 04:08

Service

Thank you so much for being so flexible about meeting us off the night train. We were really grateful.

Product

Thank you very much for meeting us off the night train. It was much appreciated.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 5), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

24 Aug 2018 07:08

Service

We have stayed in the flat three times over the last four years. We like the location and the size. However this year it was not as good a previous years. The flat is starting to look tired and in need of a bit of TLC. Bulbs not working , kitchen furniture needs a bit of attention etc. Might not have noticed as much if we hadn't stayed here several times before and its always been 5 stars. Also there is now three beds in the second bedroom , which cut down on the space and the chest of draws was removed to make room. There is a lot of space on the landing , so could the draws have been put there? We stayed for 10 days, previously the flat has been clean after a week. Not a big issue, but would have been nice to know what was happening

Product

On the expensive side …..

Our response

Service rating : Thank you for your review and there were still many aspects you enjoyed. We are very sorry at ESC that there were some elements of your stay at the property which were disappointing this year. We will certainly be considering this valuable feedback and making improvements. The situation with the missed mid stay clean and additional bed being made up must have been been a communication error with the preparation team for both of these situations as we would only go to the expense and time of arranging the third bed if requested. The default arrangement is a twin a room. If this inconvenience had been brought to our attention at the commencement of the stay or during we would have removed it immediately.
Product : This stay was during the during the prime dates of the Edinburgh Festival for a large full property right on the Royal Mile, the price paid for this property was very economical in comparison to hotels and other self catering properties in the area.

Blair Street Burns apt, just off Royal mile

22 Aug 2018 06:08

Service

Great flat, thanks.

Product

Great flat, prompt deposit return. Thanks.

Thistle St Lane, 250 metres to Princes Street-parking included

21 Aug 2018 08:08

Service

Excellent property, very good meet and greet service, very good and easy to use website.

Product

Comfortable, well equipped flat, superb location.

Bank Street, Just off Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

15 Aug 2018 09:08

Service

Very efficient. Timely communications re payments and the property

Product

Great location! Lovely apartment, well equipped and comfortable

Ladystairs 1, on Royal Mile, 150 metres from Edinburgh Castle

14 Aug 2018 04:08

Service

Have used ESC several times now and always found the handovers smooth. Lucaz was waiting for us on our arrival this year and gave good clear instructions about the flat. Accommodation was of the usual high standard and location perfect.

Product

Perfect location. Price comparable with other good standard accommodation.

The Angle Park Residence

10 Aug 2018 10:08

Service

Prompt and helpful service in every way.

Product

Comfortable with hotel standard amenities.

 1  2  3  4  (188 matches)  Next »