Overall approval rating of 87% out of 108 total guest reviews

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

15 Jan 2019 01:01

Service

We originally booked to stay at Apt 3, 1 Parliament Square. Upon arrival we deemed the apartment spacious with pleasant decor (if a little worn around the edges) however due to horrendous, unbearable noise levels (due to an alley immediately beside the apartment acting as an echo chamber, reverberating the noise of the drunken patrons until 5.30am, from the 3 pubs/ bars either end and in the centre of the alley - which they do not warn you about in the property details), after 1 night of literally no sleep at all, we opted to move to an alternate accommodation. As ECS only had two options available we were placed in the Edmonstone 'Suite' which we were told was the better of the two....I dread to think what the state of the other option was as this place was the worst place I have ever had the misfortune of staying in and it completely ruined what was supposed to be a wonderful family xmas break in Edinburgh.
I'm not sure where to start as there was so many horrors so I will simply list them;
* Thick black mould on the kitchen wall, causing a major health hazard (if you look closely their own photos you can see where they have tried to hide the black mould at the bottom of the wall by strategically placing the table).
* Built up dirt and stains all around the kitchen unit bases, dried spillages in the kitchen cupboards, built up dirt and grime in the dishwasher, drip marks all over the kitchen drawer frontages - it literally looked like it had never been wiped down with a dishcloth!
* Poorly equipped kitchen - very limited cutlery (only 3 teaspoons) but they did leave us a few bits of white plastic cutlery to top it up (yes seriously!), washing up liquid but no dishcloth or sponge.
* Broken grouting around the toilet base tiles, exceptionally unhygienic and the thought of other peoples built up urine turned my stomach!
* Built up grime, dirt and hair in the corners of both the bathroom and en-suite - I cleaned one corner with a baby wipe up and the grime I got up was so disgusting, I took before and after photos.
* Built up grime on the doorway carpet bars.
* Someone else's dirty socks under the sofa!
* A lump of dried up food under the other sofa (which had been there so long it was virtually welded to the floor). Totally disgusting.
* Ominous white stains on the navy sofa, meant we used only the grey sofa (which was very uncomfortable and needed the pillows from the bedrooms)
* Layers of dust on the skirting boards and the radiators
* Continuous smell of cigarette smoke coming into the apartment where people stood in the communal doorway smoking. This also meant we never got to use the front door and had to come and go via the lounge patio doors as there were always groups stood smoking in our way.
* Very little natural light in the apartment. The photos of the lounge are deceiving as due to having the smokers stood in the communal doorway which is next door to the lounge patio doors, they literally stand smoking and looking in at you the whole time so we had to keep the curtains shut. The window the other side wasn't much better as again you had smokers sat in a very grotty, courtyard smoking - I took a photo of the view as I felt like we were in Beirut it was was that bad! Both sides had cigarette buts litered all over the floor - clearly no one clears them up or empties the cigarette disposal bins as these were over-flowing throughout our stay.
* Large stains on the carpet in the master bedroom.
* Someones dirty socks under one of the beds in the second bedroom.
* The furniture inside the apartment is old, tatty, of very poor quality and in desperate need of updating (take a look at the old big-backed tv in the master bedroom pic, it gives a good indication of how old and tatty everything is).
Aside from the terrible standards inside the flat, it is situated in a grotty poorly maintained block of flats at the back of a restaurant. When you arrive it gives you a good idea of what to expect as the whole area is dirty, with green stains down the walls, windows covered with old newspapers or filthy curtains and cigarette buts strewn all over the floor, with groups of people always stood outside and in the communal doorway smoking. The fact we never got to use our front door was a joke!
I took photos to evidence all of the above and sent them to the owner to raise my concerns and let him know his cleaners were not doing their job. I was absolutely shocked to receive an abusive email back basically calling me a liar because they have a score of 8.9 on their reviews for cleanliness! I did respond advising that he had clearly chosen to ignore the photos I had sent him as they speak for themselves (I've shown them to friends & family who were shocked) and in regards to previous reviews, either those people had exceptionally low expectations or the cleaners have slacked off for the last six months and cleanliness standards have dropped dramatically. I advised him that as a business owner he should ensure these issues are dealt with (and better cleaners employed) to ensure future holidaymakers do not have the horrific experience we did, but he chose to ignore my further communication so I've had no option than to warn people myself.
My young son has asthma and the black mould and high levels of dirt and dust really aggravated his condition when we were in the flat so we stayed out as much as possible and ended up cutting our break short (leaving immediately after Xmas) as we couldn't bear to stay in this disgusting, dark, dingy and unhygienic place any longer. We wasted a lot of money on a flat which ruined our xmas, so whilst I would recommend Edinburgh as an amazing place to visit, I would strongly advise you book with an alternate accommodation provider - there are many to choose from, offering better standards of accommodation for a lot less money.

Product

Apartment pleasantly decorated and spacious but the over-whelming horrendous noise levels until half 5 in the morning, due to its proximity to 3 bars/pubs either end and in the centre of an alley which runs alongside the apartment and acts like an echo chamber, until half five in the morning meant no sleep at all. Recommend if you plan on not getting much sleep but if you are a family with young children steer clear.

Our response

Service rating : We are very disappointed but certainly not surprised to see this extremely negative review as we were threatened with this very action if did not adhere to a demand to provide a refund. We strongly refute their version of events.. The original property that these people booked is right in the city centre, with such city centre locations it should not be a surprise that there are restaurants and bars in the vicinity and therefore there has be to some anticipation that city centre noise pollution may be encountered on occasions. However despite this, their concerns were listened to and without question they were promptly offered a move, at no cost to themselves, to an alternative property and staff attended to assist them. We therefore ask any reader of this to consider, having just displayed how proactive and prompt we were to addressing their first concern. If the alternative property was in the condition as described in the exhaustive and endless list of issues, surely the first thing anybody would do would be to contact the operators immediately again and advise that the property was not in an acceptable condition, at no time were we contacted, which therefore did not provide us with an opportunity to attend to see these issues and address them by sending in a cleaning team. We are instead to believe they endured this appalling situation for another four days and then returned home, then waited nearly another two weeks before making a complaint. Their experience also contradicts the vast majority of other guests reviews across several review platforms. We accept that we are not infallible and things can be missed when properties are prepared, however we do expect to be given an opportunity to rectify issues if it is brought to our attention and it is standard practice that all guests are also advised when a team member meets them to provide access and show them around the property that if there is anything untoward or not to their satisfaction to contact the guest relations team on the number provided, exactly as this guest did previously at the other property when they had noise pollution concerns. It is a very regretful outcome and one we did not wish for but we cannot and will be not be coerced into providing unwarranted compensation simply because we have been threatened by a negative review.
Product : see above

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

05 Jan 2019 08:01

Service

Everything went perfectly smoothly. The instructions were straightforward and we were met promptly and given a tour and concise explanations for the workings of the property.

Product

The apartment exceeded expectations. It was comfortable, beautifully furnished and well situated. We enjoyed having such a welcoming bolt hole so close to all the action for Hogmanay and yet it was surprisingly peaceful considering the central location.

The Blinkbonny Road Residence

26 Dec 2018 10:12

Service

Our host was very attentive and helpful. The property is in an excellent location, spacious and contained everything we needed. Thank you.

Product

The host was very attentive and helpful. The property is in an excellent location, spacious and contained everything we needed.
Thank you.

The Alva Street Residence

20 Dec 2018 09:12

Service

Extremely efficient and prompt with regard to reminders when payments were due and a very good acknowledgement response whenever I made a payment however I was somewhat confused by emails coming from different names and different domains. This worried me to the extent I phoned the main supplier to check I was dealing with a bona fide booking agency - which I was.

Product

A warm comfortable spacious basement apartment in Edinburgh's West End conveniently located for transport and all city center amenities.

The Patriothall Residence

17 Dec 2018 10:12

Service

1st time using this website - very straightforward and would definitely book with them again

Product

Great location for central Edinburgh

4 Niddry Street South, Old Town, 130 metres from Royal Mile

17 Dec 2018 06:12

Service

Te accommodation was more than adequate for our family of six. Very comfy beds and well equipped kitchen. Was in a perfect location, and we had the best time there.

Product

Perfect location. Beautiful apartment.

16 Niddry St, 150 metres from Royal mile

17 Dec 2018 03:12

Service

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the accommodation in Niddry Street South. The location was excellent ~ so close to everything!

Product

Great value for money. Would totally recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting/touring Edinburgh

The Lochend Park View Residence No.3

15 Dec 2018 09:12

Service

The rental process was very easy and the confirmation and reminder Emails very helpful. Also very helpful on arrival day when O2 was out of commission and we could not access our emails for address, key code etc!

Product

Lovely apartment just not the right location for us. Cleaners need to be a bit more thorough too as there were cobwebs in ceiling corners and the coffee machine had not been emptied.

Castle Terrace Apartment

06 Dec 2018 08:12

Service

Great apartment with spectacular view of Edinburgh Castle.

Product

Great location and a wonderful city

The Wee Highland Coo, Grassmarket

30 Nov 2018 10:11

Service

EASY TO DEAL WITH, NO ISSUES FROM START TO FINISH

Product

EASY TO DEAL WITH, NO ISSUES FROM START TO FINISH.
EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION, EXCELLENT COMMUNICATION, EXCELLENT STAY. WILL RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE.

The Fettes Penthouse Residence

29 Nov 2018 02:11

Service

Flat was beautiful, well located, well finished and great quality. However, the tumble drier didn't work, underfloor heating didn't work in the living area, radiators in 3 toilets didn't work and the water heating for the showers didn't work! Staff at Edinburgh SC were great (thanks Tony) and we got convector heaters and hot water for showers by manually switching immersion heaters off and on.
Wouldn't put me off recommending Edinburgh SC though. Hopefully, just a one off bit of bad luck.

Product

If heating, tumble drier and hot water is fixed, it'd be fabulous!

City Retreat @ The New Town

26 Nov 2018 08:11

Service

Everyone was helpful and friendly, we were very confident booking , the process was straight forward .

Product

Wonderful apartment, spotlessly clean and in lovely area. We would love to stay again.

The Castle Wynd South Residence

24 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

The service from SC was exactly what I would have expected

Product

The property location was great. Just off the Grassmarket but still quiet at night.However we found the apartment to be rather cramped. The photos on the site gave a misleading image as to the size of the apartment. We were surprised that there was no welcome provisions that we have enjoyed at other Edinburgh properties (milk,some coffee and a few tea bags). The TV was a Smart TV that was really a waste. We did not know how to work it and neither did the greeter!! Oddly there were no instructions as to how to work the TV or WIFi. We would also expect some notes on Edinburgh, local bars and restaurants etc that other apartments provide, In summary this apartment did not meet our expectations nor meet the standards of other Edinburgh apartments in which we have stayed.

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : These comments have been forwarded to the operator.

The Tollcross Residence

22 Nov 2018 01:11

Service

What a great place and excellent location. Even parking included. Wendy was absolutely brilliant and made us feel so welcome and especially as we were in Edinburgh to celebrate our anniversary. Will defiantly stay again soon.

Product

Great value and with the parking included really helps

Blair St Scott apt, just off Royal Mile

22 Nov 2018 10:11

Service

Everything worked well and was as described, friendly service etc

Product

Central location, clean, tidy, good service etc

1 Parliament Sq (apt 15), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

22 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

The whole process of booking and communication was first class in an amazing property right on the Royal Mile which was extremely good value when compared with what two hotel rooms would have cost.

Product

First class, I will always consider booking with this company again.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

21 Nov 2018 02:11

Service

A great spacious apartment on the Royal Mile with full kitchen and huge family room. Perfect location. And a good value.

Product

Great place to stay and see Edinburgh.

The David Hume Residence

13 Nov 2018 07:11

Overall

Ideally situated apartment in the heart of the Royal Mile. Well-equipped rooms without unnecessary frills. Possible improvement: the kitchen was a bit sparse. The pans were partly unusable, the equipment of the oven left much to be desired.

Tolbooth just off Royal Mile - secure parking included

08 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

Very clean, central property, flexible with sofa bed for larger parties. Well organised service with free wifi and excellent local tourist info all collated into a folder. Very friendly and helpful staff to meet and greet you and orientate you regarding the property and local amenities.

Product

Very central location and beautiful setting in the Canongate.

The High Riggs Residence

07 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

Easy to contact to arrange collection of keys. Polite and helpful staff who explained how everything worked and where local ammenities were.

Product

Good value for city break

The Hampton Residence

05 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

rien à redire. Réservation en ligne simple, les mails de confirmation sont clairs. Les rappels pour le règlement du solde et de la caution idem.

Product

Appartement parfait pour la localisation : très accessible depuis le centre ville ou l'aéroport (l'arrêt de bus est devant la maison !).
L'appartement est clair et agréable.
Il manquait uniquement quelques petits détails pour qu'il soit vraiment parfait et un peu plus chaleureux : il y a un lave-linge mais pas d'étendoir, pas de liquide vaisselle à notre arrivée (j'en ai donc acheté un que j'ai laissé sur place), un seul essuie-main, pas de manique pour prendre un plat chaud dans le four. La décoration de la salle principale est minimaliste, ça manque vraiment de chaleur (ce que les écossais savent pourtant parfaitement faire !). Le lit est petit (140cm de large) pour une chambre qui permettrait un lit de 160 et une chaise serait la bienvenue. Que des détails donc ...

Castle View Suite 1 Old Town Edinburgh

02 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

As ever the apartment was clean and well decorated. This is the second time that we have stayed at this particular apartment and will be booking for August 2019.
It is perfectly located on the Grassmarket, allowing a good view of the street entertainment and comings and goings while enjoying a rest from the hectic time during the Edinburgh Festival. We find it easy and quick to get to most venues on foot, it is only 10min to Princes Street or the George Square venue.
The meet and greet was prompt and efficient. The NCP car park is close and we were able to carry most of our belongings in one trip, including our Nespresso machine!

Product

Good service, including meet and greet.
Lovely apartment with a very quiet rear bedroom.
Well stocked kitchen.
Comfortable lounge/dining area.
Plenty of clean bedding and towels.

The Patriothall Residence

01 Nov 2018 12:11

Service

From the beginning renting the property was straight forward, and the property fullfilled all expectations.

Product

The appartment was what was advertised, a comfortable. warm great position and having the free parking wasa real bonus.

The Thistle Apt, 250 metres to Princes Street

01 Nov 2018 09:11

Service

Réservation et prise en charge de l'appartement facile et ponctuelle.
appartement conforme aux attentes, propre et joliment décoré, cosy et confortable. Literie excellente. Localisation pratique pour visiter Edinburgh et ses alentours via la gare à 10 mn.

Product

service et appartement conforme à nos attentes, voir descriptif précédent. Les salles de douche, suites parentales sont joliment équipées et arrangées.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

31 Oct 2018 10:10

Service

The service was excellent and we had a wonderful time. The perfect apartment in the ideal location.

Product

Perfect apartment in the ideal location

The Spittal Street Residence

31 Oct 2018 08:10

Service

Lovely accomodation, very helpful and good communication at the beginning and end of our stay. Thanks for helping make our holiday so enjoyable.

Product

Purchase relatively smooth.

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

29 Oct 2018 10:10

Service

Tres pro !

Product

Tres bien placé
Propre, calme et confortable

The Parkgate Residence

29 Oct 2018 08:10

Service

Very nice clean apartment_everything there we needed for our stay. Beautiful views and comfortable beds, excellent. Would definitely stay again.

Product

Very good location, very clean and comfortable.

Tolbooth just off Royal Mile - secure parking included

25 Oct 2018 09:10

Service

We got greeted and made very welcome. Apartment was superb.very clean and right in the heart of the city. Lots to do all in walking distance.
Would use them again without a doubt.

Product

This apartment was excellent. Came with parking which is rare in city centre. Very quiet even though right off royal mile.
Apartment was clean and would for sure go back.

The Waterfront View Residence

25 Oct 2018 06:10

Service

great apartment and location with superb views, and a helpful and friendly property manager who was easy to contact.

Product

quick and easy to book the apartment with no problems. Excellent value for money as well.

The St Patrick Square Residence

16 Oct 2018 07:10

Service

Great, clean, modern apartment. Good access to city centre. Would definitely recommend!

Product

Great apartment, lovely decor, well equipped.

The Yeaman Place Residence

12 Oct 2018 05:10

Service

The booking process was straight forward. The apartment we booked was exactly as described. Security deposit was returned promptly on the specified date. Would definitely book through Edinburgh Self-catering again.

Product

The apartment was excellent. It was clean, comfortable and exactly as described. Good communication from the friendly owner who met us on arrival with the keys. Would definitely stay here again.

The Lauderdale Street Residence

12 Oct 2018 12:10

Service

Professional, provided clean accommodations as advertised, friendly and courtoeus ar rental onsite greeting location

Product

Because the location was excellent, clean .. as advertised online and staff were kind

Blair St Scott apt, just off Royal Mile

09 Oct 2018 01:10

Service

Everything was thought of for the flat - we didn't want for anything and there were close shops to stock up.

The only issue we had was that the bed in the main room was extremely uncomfortable. The springs were very 'loose' for lack of a better description.
There was a small issue with the shower not working but it was corrected immediately. The maintenance team was fantastic even checked that all switches were on for the hot water, oven etc.

We were a group of 7 and had rented 2 flats on Blair street. We had sent a few emails to confirm arrival times etc. but when the contact showed up to let us into one of the flats, he seems surprised that there was actually 2. He rushed us through the 2nd one quite quickly (hence the maintenance team turning on the cooker and boiler).


We would definitely stay again.

Product

Amazing location and everything was thought of. It is a busy location but, the bedrooms are at the back of the flat which looks out to a quite courtyard. There was never an issue with noise when sleeping.

Blair Street 1, just off Royal mile

05 Oct 2018 01:10

Service

We loved the location and cleanliness of the flat. It was perfect for our vacation. We were able to walk to most destinations. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a spacious, clean, central flat. Thank you for making our vacation a very enjoyable one!

Product

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this flat. Highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Edinburgh.

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

01 Oct 2018 10:10

Overall

Our original agreement was with the owner of the property before ESC took over management. Things seemed to transition well. We were met at the property by Lucas, who explained things in the flat very well. The flat is well positioned and lovely.<br />Why is there a following question about my ‘purchase’? It was a flat rental and referring to it as a purchase does not make this evaluation seem well thought out!

The Angle Park Residence

29 Sep 2018 11:09

Service

Some would say 'average' is generous. The property was a tad shabby in places.
There was no easily accessible welcome pack. The boiler was a mystery until I
'phoned the contact which someone (also confused?) had received from a mobile
nr. The shower head in the en-suite could not be adjusted for height. Indeed,
the entire fitting appeared to be about to fall from the tiles - loose screws could clearly be seen. Other than kitchen, all tiled areas suffered from mould.
One saving feature: beds were comfortable and towels were adequate and ample.

Product

See above for plusses (less) and minuses (more). I don't think I would wish to rent this property again.

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : These comments have been forwarded to the operator.

The Milton Street Residence

29 Sep 2018 09:09

Service

I was intimidated by the constant emails which came through demanding money when I first booked, a deposit, a full payment and a damage deposit. Although there was no need to pay the latter two instantly, I felt that the wording suggested I really should do so.

Product

Flat nice and well appointed but approach through the house was appalling - looked squalid

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : These comment have been forwarded tot he operator of this partnership property.

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

26 Sep 2018 03:09

Service

We had great service from Glenn at ESC, however dealing with "Sparkle Property Mgmt" was not pleasant at all. Not sure if they are part of ESC or not, don't remember dealing with them on past bookings, but we likely won't book again through ESC due to that experience.

Product

We have stayed at this flat before and the location is fantastic, but the flat is getting a bit tired looking. Seems like it needs a really good scrub down.
Didn't find that the flat was well stocked for a week stay either (2 rolls of toilet paper and about 6 sheets of paper towel left!!)

The Angle Park Residence

26 Sep 2018 03:09

Service

The accommodation was bright and spacious, the bedding was great and a comfortable mattress. En-suite shower room needs receiling as early signs of mould showing., slightly off putting.
No welcome pack available. We would benefit from basic information like heating controls , tv operation ,location for the nearest bus stop and bus numbers into town and nearest shop for Milk and bread etc. We complained about loud tv and music from upstairs from 10.30pm to about 3.00am every night,
We were told they would look into it but it still continued for our entire stay. “The Supply of ear plugs would have helped.”
There is a bus stop just right of the property about 50yards away and the bus no: 30 goes into the city centre at £1.70 single and £4.00 return. Remember to have the correct money as no change will be given. Buses run through out the night and check times on your phone as time table at the stops aren’t correct.

Product

Reasonable price given its location

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : no comment

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

26 Sep 2018 12:09

Service

The flat was a perfect space in Edinburgh, in the middle of pubs, castles, cafes and graveyards. Too scottish. So loved being there. Could not possibly be a better place to locate for an Edinburgh visit.

Product

Perfectly positioned, appointed and provided the most wonderful Scottish experience

The Clockmill Residence

18 Sep 2018 08:09

Service

The little flat was well presented, clean, fresh and tidy. We enjoyed the mod-cons in the kitchen and the great shower. Given that we had a washing machine it would have been nice to have had a drier or drying rack. Otherwise great and very handy to a supermarkket, buses and attractions.

Product

As I wrote in number 1. Have and will recommend the flat to others

The Thistle Apt, 250 metres to Princes Street

14 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Excellent availability to answer questions

Product

Facilities not for 4 (chairs, eating and cooking)
just about enough for 3 ,
Small toilet in hall

The Angle Park Residence

09 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Really enjoyed our stay in the apartment. Beautiful space, very clean, and had exactly what we needed. We might have welcomed something along the lines of milk (even long life milk) left in the fridge for our arrival, or a basic welcome pack, as we arrived very late, and weren't able to buy food in the area. Otherwise really enjoyed our stay.

Product

Really enjoyed it. Beautiful space, and really easy to find and access based on the instructions given. Would have been nice to have had some food in the place on arrival as we arrived very late, and didn't know the area - but other than that, all perfect.

The Findlay Gardens Residence

07 Sep 2018 12:09

Service

A charming well equipped apartment on the outskirts of the City centre. The hosts were extremely helpful easily contactable and allowing us to arrive early and provided an abundance of free food items which just made the settling in brilliant.

The apartment is capable of accommodating four (2xadults and 2x teens) and has all modern amenities from a strong wifi connection to excellent shower and comfortable furnishings. Excellent to collapse on after exploring the City and ascending Arthur's Seat (when it was an unheard of 27C!!)

Product

Though the apartment is on the outskirts of the City centre there are bus stops over the road (nos 21 &25 ) that take you into the heart of the City and act as a tour bus if you sit on the upper level of a double decker! However we also hired a car which made touring outside Edinburgh much easier and then the location of the property comes into its own.
The coastal roads leading from Portobello (Milton Rd) are only a mile away turning left down Sleigh Drive and this will take you through Musselborough, Aberlady and all the way to the delighful beach at North Berwick avoiding any heavy traffic. We spent a whole hot sunny day there crabbing etc

Driving into the City is a doddle compared to the stress of driving into London for sure or even Glasgow even!

There is a Sainsburys supermarket ten mins away by car near Meadowbank which was very handy and a Tesco in the other direction.

The neighbourhood is a very pleasant and quiet area and to be frank we were quite relieved we had booked further out to avoid the heavier traffic noise during the latter days of the 'Fringe' .
Compared to the exorbitant costs down South this was a very reasonable accommodation/holiday made all the better not only by the hosts helpfulness but also the unexpected sunny weather.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

07 Sep 2018 08:09

Service

Unfortunately the accommodation was very noisy throughout the night, every night, even when we compensated that it was the festival for first part of the week. None of us got a full night's sleep, any night. The previous year we stayed in another flat in the block during the festival that overlooked the Royal Mile and it wasn't this noisy. The issue was the height and narrowness of the side alleyway/lane funneled the noise straight up into the flats above and there were many groups of people moving about in the early hours. We also had all the smells of cooking food from the cafe/restaurants below. We would not stay or rent this accommodation ever again.
We would consider returning to the other flat we stayed in the previous year as it was more comfortable and did not have the same noise problems.

Product

Please see comments above.

The Newhaven Residence

05 Sep 2018 09:09

Service

Excellent service and responded quickly when questions asked

Product

Great apartment. Everything you could ask for in a great location.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

05 Sep 2018 06:09

Service

Easy booking service and key collection.

Product

Excellent apartment in a great location. We had a fantastic long weekend.

The Yeaman Place Residence

01 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Host met us on arrival and ensured we knew where everything was and how appliances etc worked including giving us a contact if we had any questions/ difficulties etc.
Everything in apartment was clean, comfortable and provided a home away from home.

Product

Perfect apartment for our stay

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

01 Sep 2018 05:09

Service

Everything was perfect. The flat is gorgeously appointed and meticulously maintained.

Product

Beautiful location, unparalleled customer service.

 1  2  3  4  (195 matches)  Next »