Overall approval rating of 88% out of 84 total guest reviews

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

25 Sep 2019 01:09

Service

Lucas met me at the flat. I was there exactly when I said I would be there. Yet, he seemed in a terrible hurry to get away he showed me quickly how to set the thermostat but I never could get the heat to go on. I was also surprised to find the rubbish had not been emptied. It took about 3 days and several messages to get that fixed. Otherwise the flat was clean and comfortable and transactions were handled in a business like way.

Product

I love this flat and would likely stay here again. It is in a great location and is furnished in a way that makes it feel like home. I could not figure out how to turn on the heat or the dishwasher. The clothes washer worked great. I like that it is on the first floor. It feels safe and homey.

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

23 Sep 2019 04:09

Service

I have used ESC before and enjoyed the quality of their properties. A fantastic location, the 17th. century Stairmaster was expected as I knew what floor we were on! Convenient location for our bus tours and old town shopping. The meet and greet could have been a little more on time...waited for over an hour to be let in to our apartment. More information in the book would help us North Americans when it comes to running single unit washer/dryers and lighting the gas fireplace but other than that it was good. A broom & dustpan would have been helpful for our daily clean up, but all supplies & groceries were appreciated. Maybe a grocery store map could be included for stocking the fridge. Thanks again and I will recommend you to my friends and family for quality apartment rentals. Thanks Glenn

Product

We had to wait over an hour for entry to our apartment when I had stated between 6 & 6:30, we arrived at 6:15 and it was after 7pm. before we got into the apartment. We were very obvious as we had Canada all over our suitcases and clothing but we had to ask him if he was there for ESC....maybe a jacket or card on a lanyard around his neck would have helped us identify you!

1 Parliament Sq (apt 15), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

22 Sep 2019 05:09

Service

Great location, clean and comfortable! Personal welcome was a nice touch!

Product

Very comfortable flat with everything we needed. Great place to sit and watch the world go by!

Castle Wynd South, Old Town, 150 metres from Edinburgh Castle

22 Sep 2019 12:09

Service

Die Schlüsselübergabe hat gut geklappt. Maya war sehr freundlich. Sie kam auch, als wir uns am nächsten Tag über den moderigen Geruch beschwerten und dass die Zündung am Gasherd permanent zündete. Sie ließ Dave kommen, der sich um die Zustände in der Wohnung redlich bemühte (putzen, Einlagen in die Schränke, um den Modergeruch zu übertünchen, Anzünder für den Gasherd bei gleichzeitiger Kappen der Sicherung für die automatische Zündvorrichtung), konnte aber die Mängel nicht wirklich beheben. Als wir dann Maya nochmals anriefen, sie solle kommen, war sie schon sichtlich genervt. Sie sagte, die Firma könne uns keine Reduktion des Mietpreises anbieten aber auch keine Ersatzwohnung, da alles restlos ausgebucht sei.

Product

In der Wohnung roch es modrig, die Betten waren sehr schmal, es gab weitere kleinere Mängel. Schränke haben wir nicht benutzt, obwohl der Caretaker Einlagen in die Schubladen legte. Dennoch mussten wir zu Hause die Wäsche mehrmals waschen und Jackets in die Reinigung bringen, um den üblen Geruch loszuwerden.
Die Wohnung war sehr zentral gelegen, wir würden sie aber aus o.g. Gründen nich noch einmal anmieten.

The Edinburgh Mews @ The West End

18 Sep 2019 01:09

Overall

Perfect location, lovely, clean and well equipped townhouse. Absolutely no problems. Sheena and Siobhan were lively to work with.

Castle View Suite 3 Old Town Edinburgh

14 Sep 2019 04:09

Service

everything went smoth and easy and very friendly. The timing was perfect, the flat is gorgeous. I hope I can come back one day. And yes, I do recommend it. Thank you very much for everything.

Product

The flat is just perfect. There is everything you need for a holiday in Edinburgh

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

14 Sep 2019 09:09

Service

Excellent service.
Online booking was so easy.
Lucas greeted us at the apartment, helped us with our suitcases and gave us a tour of the apartment. He efficiently attended to one of our requirements.

Product

Good value for a family of 4.

The Portsburgh Square Residence

03 Sep 2019 07:09

Service

The apartment smelt of stale cigarette smoke for the duration of the stay which was incredibly offensive. There were signs for no smoking but this smell has been caused by long term smoking which only a complete redecoration and change of furnishings would resolve.

If cleaning had been done it wasn’t done well as the cooker was not completely clean and there was dirt in the door groove on the fridge. There was a layer of dust on the toilet and around the bath.

The quality of the bed linen and towels was very poor.

When enquired if we could arrive earlier than the 4pm check-in we were told we could if we wanted to pay extra for a quicker clean or to book an additional night the day before our stay. We opted not to but when it came to the day of check-in we just received an email with a key code. We kept to the 4pm appointment only to find that no one bothered to meet us. We had no meet and greet which not only is poor in itself but questionable how a deposit can be requested if no one agrees the state of the property at the start of the stay.

Product

If this section relates to the actually booking then tat was fine except the contact (or lack of) with the agent

Castle View Suite 2 Old Town Edinburgh

31 Aug 2019 06:08

Service

The apartment was well equipped, comfortable but so noisy at night, not just with people, but with cars and trucks, all night long. The location was excellent. There was not one clock in the place, the one on the stove we could not get it to work. It was difficult to figure how the shower worked, hot, cold and turn off.

Product

I just did on the previous page

Castle View Suite 1 Old Town Edinburgh

26 Aug 2019 09:08

Service

This is the third time that we have stayed in this apartment for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. That in itself should indicate our level of satisfaction. It is perfectly located on the Grassmarket with unrivalled views of the castle and the tattoo firework display. All of the venues for the fringe are within easy walking distance. There are numerous bars and restaurants within a stones throw and the most delicious patisserie and deli on Victoria Street, not to mention the excellent ice-cream parlour below the apartment!
The apartment is well furnished and provisioned, with comfortable sofas and bed, a welcome relief after a long day at the festival. A big bonus is the amazingly quiet bedroom to the rear of the property

Product

The booking process was easy with well timed reminders for payments and damage deposit. The apartment was clean and well provisioned.
The damage deposit was returned promptly.

Ladystairs 1, on Royal Mile, 150 metres from Edinburgh Castle

23 Aug 2019 06:08

Service

Efficient, friendly and helpful service. We will definitely use them again.

Product

Comfortable and convenient flat with everything you might need.

Edinburgh Dean Village studio in delightful Mews

10 Aug 2019 01:08

Service

Lovely little apartment and spotlessly clean so no complaints there. However, you do need to be an Olympic athlete to get into the bed ( I exaggerate but only a little...) Also, no instructions for anything. There was no hot water; fortunately we are both pretty resourceful so worked out how to switch it on. Less success with the television which steadfastly refused to give us BBC 1.

Product

Exactly what is written above

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

07 Aug 2019 07:08

Service

What an amazing apartment, wonderful facilities, excellent location
check in and out was smooth, refund of security deposit was prompt

Product

wonderful apartment, great location, everything you could want on the Royal Mile

The St Patrick Square Residence

28 Jul 2019 04:07

Service

Thank you, everything was in its place and the apartment was clean and spacious.

Product

This question is not very specific (in German) and we rated our satisfaction already above.

Ladystairs 2, on Royal Mile, 150 metres from Edinburgh Castle

18 Jul 2019 05:07

Service

Beetje onhandig inchecken midden in de enorme toeristendrukte, maar dat ligt niet aan de service maar aan de aantrekkelijkheid van de prachtige stad.

Product

Prima appartement in hartje Edinburgh. Keuken zou wat slimmer ingericht kunnen worden, maar alles wat je nodig hebt voor een aangenaam verblijf is voor handen.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 15), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

16 Jul 2019 08:07

Service

We had an issue with the bathroom sink one evening, we sent a message and someone came to fix it early next morning.
Good walk through upon arrival.
Could do with double glazing as noisy even at the top floor.

Product

Good location. Top floor with many stairs.

Classic Marchmont Charm @ The Meadows

14 Jul 2019 10:07

Service

Nice home.

Product

good, but nobody directly there.

The Shandwick Place Residence

29 Jun 2019 07:06

Service

A lovely contemporary flat in a central location; the hosts were amazing and went to great lengths to make us feel comfortable and settled. I do like having a meet and greet service rather than wrestling with key boxes.

Product

efficient and responsive;

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

28 Jun 2019 01:06

Service

We loved the location (right on the Royal Mile) and found the unit to be airy and spacious. Hot water was abundant and beds comfortable. Based on the location alone, we would return.
Lucas met us at the flat. He was a few minutes late. He went through unit quickly. The containers he showed us marked as dishwasher tablets, washing machine tablets (soap)—when we went to run dishwasher found BOTH containers empty. We advised the cleaning service as we departed unit so hopefully they will get refilled.
The slip covers on the sofa showed a few stains, and the floors could use a deep cleaning.

Product

Perfect location right on Royal Mille. Unit is spacious and feels airy. Water pressure excellent and hot water plentiful.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

21 Jun 2019 06:06

Service

Great location. Great apartment. Good service

Product

Location is great. Apartment is very nice and comfortable

Ladystairs 1, on Royal Mile, 150 metres from Edinburgh Castle

19 Jun 2019 01:06

Service

We were told we would be able to check in luggage if apartment not yet ready months in advance. Not true. Had to wait hours.
Also, person meeting us incorrectly told us we had a dryer, not just a washer and we spent hours trying to keep getting clothes to not be soaking wet to no success. Phoned several times to find out problem, and told it must be broken.
We returned a week later to same apartment: he then told us he had been wrong and that the machine was only a washer!!!
A POSITIVE is that he helped us carry our suitcase upstairs.and apologized for his error first visit.

Product

Stairs are really hard to deal with luggage as warned but be aware they are really tiny spiral stairs

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

03 Jun 2019 10:06

Service

They are friendly and the flat is lovely. But for the second time there was no one there to meet us on arrival, even though exact arrival times are known. Having to phone us and then wait for 10 minutes in the rain is not very welcoming. Also one of the lights in the flat did not work, (light bulb gone - should be checked or spare ones in the flat) and it would be a nice touch to have at least one dishwasher tab in the flat.

Product

The flat is beautiful, large and comfortable. It was well heated which was much appreciated.

Our response

Service rating : Thank you for leaving a review and indicating there were many positive aspects to your stay at apt 3 Parliament Square. We can only apologise for the slight delay you encountered for access, it was certainly not intentional. Unfortunately on occasions several bookings can arrive at a similar time, or one is slightly late and has a knock on effect to subsequent arrivals or the guest just engages staff longer than anticipated during the meet and greet process. Fortunately there is a covered area outside the property to shelter from rain. It was pity that the guest did not contact the guest relations team whilst they were there to give us an opportunity to rectify any issues that were not quite right rather than waiting until they departed. These particular issues were very minor and could have been attended to very quickly. That is one of the roles of the guest relations team to attend to any issues.
Product : Thank you for the positive remarks

Edmonstone Suite, Old Town, 250 metres from Edinburgh Castle

30 May 2019 05:05

Service

size was big enough, location was nice

Product

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Tolbooth just off Royal Mile - secure parking included

27 May 2019 08:05

Service

Excellent facilities except corner of cooker hood....just the right height for six foot plus head !!

Product

Bargain comfy bed powerful shower.

Frederick Street Duplex

15 May 2019 08:05

Service

Perfect locations and spacious apartment. Slept well even though it would have been nice to have king sizes instead of queen. All in all very happy.

Product

Very happy with this purchase.

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

30 Apr 2019 07:04

Service

Casa deliziosa ben arredata con tutto ciò che serve, fino all'adattatore per le prese di corrente italiane. Posizione in prossimità del centro. Tutto molto bello e accogliente.

Product

Casa deliziosa ben arredata con tutto ciò che serve, fino all'adattatore per le prese di corrente italiane. Posizione in prossimità del centro. Tutto molto bello e accogliente.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

27 Apr 2019 11:04

Service

They were prompt meeting me at the door. Got to the apartment and it was great. Lots of room and lots of sunlight. And it location if perfect for Old Town Edinburgh, near the castle, near J.K. Rowlings inspirations and writing places, other wonderful places.

Product

Great price for well equipped apartment in perfect location.

The York Place Residence

11 Apr 2019 07:04

Service

Easy contact with rep.. Problem about heating resolved quite quickly by rep bringing additional heaters

Product

The rooms and facilities were of high quality. Only downside was the poor heating. Even though the boiler appeared to be working correctly most of the radiators failed to heat up.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

10 Apr 2019 07:04

Service

Excellent

Product

Great everythng was very good convenient.. And easy to manage

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

09 Apr 2019 04:04

Service

Great company, booking etc. all easy and straightforward. Emails kept us up to date and the guy who met us at the flat was great.

Product

Fabulous flat, really spacious. Beautifully decorated, actually looks exactly like the pictures! Super view and location. Clean and cosy, couldn't fault a thing. Would definitely stay here again, loved it!

Blair Street 1, just off Royal mile

03 Apr 2019 05:04

Service

We enjoyed the Edinburgh 13 Blair Street flat very much. Great location. Street noise was somewhat bothersome, but other than that, no complaints. Flat was clean and met our needs very well. The hair dryer listed on the amenities list was missing. We called to report this problem and a brand new hair dryer was waiting in the flat when we returned from seeing the sites. Amazing service. Damage deposit was credited within two days of our departure.

Product

Flat was perfect for us. Clean and spacious. Street noise was bothersome, but other than that all was perfect. Perfect location. We could not find the hair dryer promised in the amenities list. We called to let management know and a brand new hair dryer was waiting for us when we returned from seeing the sites. Thank you.

The Fettes Court Residence

03 Apr 2019 02:04

Service

Apartment as described. Communication was excellent, timely and clear.

Product

Very comfy, bright and as described. Good parking if you have normal car. Vans etc will struggle and the neighbours don't want that inconvenience. (We had a car but the community president told us). Meet and greet communications ensured the rep and us didn't have to hang around.

The Drummond Street Residence

03 Apr 2019 10:04

Service

The cooker ,oven and hob were broken incurring more cost than expected. I had to dispose of the groceries I bought and had take aways

Product

Unable to cook a meal incurring costs

Our response

Service rating : We are very sorry that this guest had a bad experience at this property. Unfortunately this property is part of a cross advertising arrangement and is not a property fully managed by ESC Ltd and is operated by another company. However we do still expect guests who book external properties to still have a wonderful experience. We have reported this to the operators of the property that there are issues that need to be resolved. We have contacted this particular guest with a promotion code to give them a significant discount if they return to Edinburgh and book one of our fully managed properties. Regards, Glenn Ford ESC ltd
Product : We have forwarded this to the operators

The Thistle Apt, 250 metres to Princes Street

03 Apr 2019 06:04

Service

I experienced some issues with the booking agent , they resolved it and kept me fully informed. I was met at the property in good time and shown all the facilities the property had

Product

excellent location, you could not be any closer to local bars and restaurants.
lovely apartment , clean , fully equipped with all that you could require

Tolbooth just off Royal Mile - secure parking included

03 Apr 2019 06:04

Service

Great service and welcome at arrival to the apartment. The assistance was greatly appreciated and friendly. An outstanding apartment in a beautiful location.

Product

Great price for a beautiful apartment and location.

Edmonstone Suite, Old Town, 250 metres from Edinburgh Castle

30 Mar 2019 03:03

Service

Rude, nasty, unhelpful manager who refused to deal with the issues raised about the property we had the misfortune to stay in over the xmas period. Despite sending a huge number of photos to him clearly showing the poor state of the apartment and how disgustingly dirty it was, he insisted the property was clean and refused to look into the issues raised or even address the problem with his cleaners. He accused me of just trying to get a refund which I did not once mention or ask for. I advised that if he was unwilling acknowledge and take action to rectify the problems with the apartment I would be warning other potential holiday makers via a review as I was so disappointed and I wouldn't want someone else to experience what we did, especially at what was supposed to be a wonderful xmas break for our family.

Product

Unfortunately we had to be moved from the property we originally booked due to unexpected problems. As ECS only had two other properties available we were placed in the Edmonstone 'Suite' which we were told was the better of the two....I dread to think what the state of the other option was as this place was the worst place I have ever had the misfortune of staying in and it completely ruined what was supposed to be a wonderful family xmas break in Edinburgh. I'm not sure where to start as there was so many horrors so I will simply list them; * Thick black mould on the kitchen wall, causing a major health hazard (if you look closely their own photos you can see where they have tried to hide the black mould at the bottom of the wall by strategically placing the table). * Built up dirt and stains all around the kitchen unit bases, dried spillages in the kitchen cupboards, built up dirt and grime in the dishwasher, drip marks all over the kitchen drawer frontages - it literally looked like it had never been wiped down with a dishcloth! * Poorly equipped kitchen - very limited cutlery (only 3 teaspoons) but they did leave us a few bits of white plastic cutlery to top it up (yes seriously!), washing up liquid but no dishcloth or sponge. * Broken grouting around the toilet base tiles, exceptionally unhygienic and the thought of other peoples built up urine turned my stomach! * Built up grime, dirt and hair in the corners of both the bathroom and en-suite - I cleaned one corner with a baby wipe up and the grime I got up was so disgusting, I took before and after photos. * Built up grime on the doorway carpet bars. * Someone else's dirty socks under the sofa! * A lump of dried up food under the other sofa (which had been there so long it was virtually welded to the floor). Totally disgusting. * Ominous white stains on the navy sofa, meant we used only the grey sofa (which was very uncomfortable and needed the pillows from the bedrooms) * Layers of dust on the skirting boards and the radiators * Continuous smell of cigarette smoke coming into the apartment where people stood in the communal doorway smoking. This also meant we never got to use the front door and had to come and go via the lounge patio doors as there were always groups stood smoking in our way. * Very little natural light in the apartment. The photos of the lounge are deceiving as due to having the smokers stood in the communal doorway which is next door to the lounge patio doors, they literally stand smoking and looking in at you the whole time so we had to keep the curtains shut. The window the other side wasn't much better as again you had smokers sat in a very grotty, courtyard smoking - I took a photo of the view as I felt like we were in Beirut it was was that bad! Both sides had cigarette buts littered all over the floor - clearly no one clears them up or empties the cigarette disposal bins as these were over-flowing throughout our stay. * Large stains on the carpet in the master bedroom. * Someones dirty socks under one of the beds in the second bedroom. * The furniture inside the apartment is old, tatty, of very poor quality and in desperate need of updating (take a look at the old big-backed tv in the master bedroom pic, it gives a good indication of how old and tatty everything is). Aside from the terrible standards inside the flat, it is situated in a grotty poorly maintained block of flats at the back of a restaurant. When you arrive it gives you a good idea of what to expect as the whole area is dirty, with green stains down the walls, windows covered with old newspapers or filthy curtains and cigarette buts strewn all over the floor, with groups of people always stood outside and in the communal doorway smoking. The fact we never got to use our front door was a joke! I took photos to evidence all of the above and sent them to the owner to raise my concerns and let him know his cleaners were not doing their job. I was absolutely shocked to receive an abusive email back basically calling me a liar because they have a score of 8.9 on their reviews for cleanliness! I did respond advising that he had clearly chosen to ignore the photos I had sent him as they speak for themselves (I've shown them to friends & family who were shocked) and in regards to previous reviews, either those people had exceptionally low expectations or the cleaners have slacked off for the last six months and cleanliness standards have dropped dramatically. I advised him that as a business owner he should ensure these issues are dealt with (and better cleaners employed) to ensure future holidaymakers do not have the horrific experience we did, but he chose to ignore my further communication so I've had no option than to warn people myself. My young son has asthma and the black mould and high levels of dirt and dust really aggravated his condition when we were in the flat so we stayed out as much as possible and ended up cutting our break short (leaving immediately after Xmas) as we couldn't bear to stay in this disgusting, dark, dingy and unhygienic place any longer. We wasted a lot of money on a flat which ruined our xmas, so whilst I would recommend Edinburgh as an amazing place to visit, I would strongly advise you book with an alternate accommodation provider - there are many to choose from, offering better standards of accommodation for a lot less money."

1 Parliament Sq (apt 15), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

19 Mar 2019 08:03

Service

The apartment was really lovely, clean and in a good location. However our apartment was not ready when we arrived.

Product

The purchase was straight forward

Candlemaker Row, Old Town, 500 metres from Edinburgh Castle

16 Mar 2019 11:03

Service

Very good meet and greet service .everything thing we needed in an apartment was there,even umbrellas would recommend to all my friends

Product

Excellent location, really comfortable accommodation

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

22 Feb 2019 02:02

Service

It was a great apartment and effeciently run. I would recommend it to others.

Product

Really lovely place and ideal location for central Edinburgh.

Our response

Service rating : Thank you for indicating you had a fantastic time at the apt 10 Parliament Square property.https://www.edinburgh-selfcatering.co.uk/holiday-rentals/34352-1-parliament-sq-apt-10-royal-mile-300-metres-from-edinburgh-castle


Product : So please the property met your expectations.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

20 Feb 2019 10:02

Service

The apartment was beautiful as usual. We have stayed there 3 times now and it doesn't' disappoint. Very professional meet & greet.

Product

Beautiful apartment in a beautiful old building. Everything we needed was in the apartment including tea coffee milk for when we arrived. We are already organising our next trip. Thanks for everything, can't wait to come back.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 15), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

19 Feb 2019 03:02

Service

From start to finish we had wonderful and very professional care. I have even left an item in our flat, Edinburgh sc so quick to respond and put my mind at ease knowing it is being returned!

Product

Utterly stunning apartment, beautiful fixtures and fittings. We have stayed here before and there have been a couple of improvements, just adding to an already lovely flat! Centrally located on the royal mile it’s so lively, street performers, stalls, ghost tours, camera obscura the museum. An endless list of things to do and a great choice of places to eat and drink.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

19 Feb 2019 05:02

Service

Super

Product

Super. ,Schoon ,makkelijk bereikbaar

The Castle Esplanade Residence

01 Feb 2019 12:02

Service

The service was excellent. Eddie was very helpful with queries and responded within a few hours.

Product

A bit more attention could have been placed on basic essentials eg. a breadboard

1 Parliament Sq (apt 15), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

27 Jan 2019 10:01

Service

Fabulous flat with enough little extras to make the experience lovely; nice man who greeted us and easy to arrange.

Product

Fabulous flat with lots of home comforts

Castle View Suite 1 Old Town Edinburgh

26 Jan 2019 10:01

Service

Simply fantastic customer service from the team. My booking was a little complicated but the team handled it amazingly. The location of the property is second to none with stunning views of the castle and Grassmarket. Lovely and clean property with everything you need for a home from home. This is a repeat visit for us and we will definitely be going back. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thank you

Product

Brilliant location. Excellent property with everything needed for a 5* stay. Simply cant be faulted.

1 Parliament Sq (apt 3), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

15 Jan 2019 01:01

Service

We originally booked to stay at Apt 3, 1 Parliament Square. Upon arrival we deemed the apartment spacious with pleasant decor (if a little worn around the edges) however due to horrendous, unbearable noise levels (due to an alley immediately beside the apartment acting as an echo chamber, reverberating the noise of the drunken patrons until 5.30am, from the 3 pubs/ bars either end and in the centre of the alley - which they do not warn you about in the property details), after 1 night of literally no sleep at all, we opted to move to an alternate accommodation. As ECS only had two options available we were placed in the Edmonstone 'Suite' which we were told was the better of the two....I dread to think what the state of the other option was as this place was the worst place I have ever had the misfortune of staying in and it completely ruined what was supposed to be a wonderful family xmas break in Edinburgh.
I'm not sure where to start as there was so many horrors so I will simply list them;
* Thick black mould on the kitchen wall, causing a major health hazard (if you look closely their own photos you can see where they have tried to hide the black mould at the bottom of the wall by strategically placing the table).
* Built up dirt and stains all around the kitchen unit bases, dried spillages in the kitchen cupboards, built up dirt and grime in the dishwasher, drip marks all over the kitchen drawer frontages - it literally looked like it had never been wiped down with a dishcloth!
* Poorly equipped kitchen - very limited cutlery (only 3 teaspoons) but they did leave us a few bits of white plastic cutlery to top it up (yes seriously!), washing up liquid but no dishcloth or sponge.
* Broken grouting around the toilet base tiles, exceptionally unhygienic and the thought of other peoples built up urine turned my stomach!
* Built up grime, dirt and hair in the corners of both the bathroom and en-suite - I cleaned one corner with a baby wipe up and the grime I got up was so disgusting, I took before and after photos.
* Built up grime on the doorway carpet bars.
* Someone else's dirty socks under the sofa!
* A lump of dried up food under the other sofa (which had been there so long it was virtually welded to the floor). Totally disgusting.
* Ominous white stains on the navy sofa, meant we used only the grey sofa (which was very uncomfortable and needed the pillows from the bedrooms)
* Layers of dust on the skirting boards and the radiators
* Continuous smell of cigarette smoke coming into the apartment where people stood in the communal doorway smoking. This also meant we never got to use the front door and had to come and go via the lounge patio doors as there were always groups stood smoking in our way.
* Very little natural light in the apartment. The photos of the lounge are deceiving as due to having the smokers stood in the communal doorway which is next door to the lounge patio doors, they literally stand smoking and looking in at you the whole time so we had to keep the curtains shut. The window the other side wasn't much better as again you had smokers sat in a very grotty, courtyard smoking - I took a photo of the view as I felt like we were in Beirut it was was that bad! Both sides had cigarette buts litered all over the floor - clearly no one clears them up or empties the cigarette disposal bins as these were over-flowing throughout our stay.
* Large stains on the carpet in the master bedroom.
* Someones dirty socks under one of the beds in the second bedroom.
* The furniture inside the apartment is old, tatty, of very poor quality and in desperate need of updating (take a look at the old big-backed tv in the master bedroom pic, it gives a good indication of how old and tatty everything is).
Aside from the terrible standards inside the flat, it is situated in a grotty poorly maintained block of flats at the back of a restaurant. When you arrive it gives you a good idea of what to expect as the whole area is dirty, with green stains down the walls, windows covered with old newspapers or filthy curtains and cigarette buts strewn all over the floor, with groups of people always stood outside and in the communal doorway smoking. The fact we never got to use our front door was a joke!
I took photos to evidence all of the above and sent them to the owner to raise my concerns and let him know his cleaners were not doing their job. I was absolutely shocked to receive an abusive email back basically calling me a liar because they have a score of 8.9 on their reviews for cleanliness! I did respond advising that he had clearly chosen to ignore the photos I had sent him as they speak for themselves (I've shown them to friends & family who were shocked) and in regards to previous reviews, either those people had exceptionally low expectations or the cleaners have slacked off for the last six months and cleanliness standards have dropped dramatically. I advised him that as a business owner he should ensure these issues are dealt with (and better cleaners employed) to ensure future holidaymakers do not have the horrific experience we did, but he chose to ignore my further communication so I've had no option than to warn people myself.
My young son has asthma and the black mould and high levels of dirt and dust really aggravated his condition when we were in the flat so we stayed out as much as possible and ended up cutting our break short (leaving immediately after Xmas) as we couldn't bear to stay in this disgusting, dark, dingy and unhygienic place any longer. We wasted a lot of money on a flat which ruined our xmas, so whilst I would recommend Edinburgh as an amazing place to visit, I would strongly advise you book with an alternate accommodation provider - there are many to choose from, offering better standards of accommodation for a lot less money.

Product

Apartment pleasantly decorated and spacious but the over-whelming horrendous noise levels until half 5 in the morning, due to its proximity to 3 bars/pubs either end and in the centre of an alley which runs alongside the apartment and acts like an echo chamber, until half five in the morning meant no sleep at all. Recommend if you plan on not getting much sleep but if you are a family with young children steer clear.

Our response

Service rating : We are very disappointed to hear that your experience and our properties did not meet your expectations. We accept that we are not infallible and sometimes things can be missed in the preparation of our properties - This is why we have a team member meet and greet visitors so that you can bring to their attention any fault you may find when you first arrive. We also provide the number of our Guest Relations team, should anything be found unsatisfactory during your stay. In the first instance, your concerns were heard and we were able to move you to an alternative property nearby, to best meet your needs. We are disappointed to hear that the second property did not meet expectations either. However, without notice of this, we were unable to rectify the issues you faced. As it were, a cleaning company could have attended this property, in a timely manner, to resolve your complaints and ensure your stay was made a comfortable one. We, again, would like to apologise for any short-comings you faced during your stay with us and would urge you to get in touch with us directly should you deem any matter to still be unresolved. (edited by Feefo at the request of the merchant, 14-Feb-2019)
Product : see above

1 Parliament Sq (apt 10), Royal Mile, 300 metres from Edinburgh Castle

05 Jan 2019 08:01

Service

Everything went perfectly smoothly. The instructions were straightforward and we were met promptly and given a tour and concise explanations for the workings of the property.

Product

The apartment exceeded expectations. It was comfortable, beautifully furnished and well situated. We enjoyed having such a welcoming bolt hole so close to all the action for Hogmanay and yet it was surprisingly peaceful considering the central location.

 1  2  3  (143 matches)  Next »